NW Congress Members Vote For Stop-Gap Tax Bill

By Tom Bacon

With a handful of notable exceptions, U-S House members from Washington, Oregon and Idaho voted for a stop-gap tax bill late last night to end a fractious, confusing political struggle to close the 112th Congress.  The bill, which had easily passed the Senate on New Year's Eve, required support from Democrats, because 151 republicans voted against it.

The issue made for some strange voting alliances.

The "yea" votes came from all of Washington's GOP delegation - Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Doc Hastings, Dave Reichert and Jaime Herrera-Buetler. Two Washington Democrats - Jim McDermott and Adam Smith- voted against it.
The Oregon delegation was split - with Democrats Peter DeFazio and Earl Blumenauer voting against it - other oregon Republicans and Democrats for it.
The two Republicans representing Idaho - Mike Simpson and Raul Labrador - split their votes. Simpson was for the bill, Labrador vociferously against it.  He had accused President Obama and many congressional Democrats of wanting to take the nation over the so-called fiscal cliff. Labrador was adamantly against cutting taxes for most Americans while Congress failed to take up spending cuts which would slice the nation's deficit by 4-trillion dollars in the next decade.

The issue of spending cuts will come up again in possibly even more bitter fights about two months from now.
Currently Playing
Schedule Grid KPBX 91.1
All Things Considered
4:30pm 6:28pm
Schedule Grid KSFC 91.9
On Point 9am Repeat
4:00pm 5:00pm
Click for Spokane, Washington Forecast
SPR Family of Underwriters: