New Hands in Local N. Idaho Government

By Tom Bacon

New hands take over control of the levers of government in Coeur d' Alene and nearby Post Falls this week. Coeur d' Alene gets a new mayor and two new city council members. Steve Widmyer, a businessman and restauranteur, takes the oath as mayor, replacing 12-year Mayor Sandi Bloem.

Newly elected council members Kiki Miller and Amy Evans will also be sworn in, replacing retiring members Deanna Goodlander and Mike Kennedy, who had 24 years of council service between them. All three were supported by a moderate coalition called Balance North Idaho and defeated a slate of hard-line conservatives.

In Post Falls, city councilman Ron Jacobson takes the mayor's gavel from long-time Mayor Clay Larkin who decided to retire at the end of his term. Three new Post Falls council members will be sworn in - Betty Ann Henderson, Alan Wolfe and Linda Wilhelm.
Currently Playing
Schedule Grid KPBX 91.1
Inland Folk with Dan Maher
3:00pm 4:00pm
Schedule Grid KSFC 91.9
America's Test Kitchen
3:00pm 4:00pm
Click for Spokane, Washington Forecast
SPR Family of Underwriters: